William McGreevey is an Associate Professor, Department of International Health, Georgetown University, where he teaches on Economic Demography, HIV and AIDS, and the Political Economy of Health and Development. He is the Chairman of the Academic Board of the Institute. As a consulting economist, he provides services on international development and health issues to UNAIDS and its ten co-sponsors, Futures Group and Futures Institute, and Results for Development Institute. He is a graduate with BA in economics from Ohio State University, 1960, and PhD in economics from MIT, 1965. His PhD dissertation was later revised and published by Cambridge University Press in 1971 as An Economic History of Columbia, 1945-1930. It was reissued in 2007 and is now in its seventh Spanish Language edition, published in Bogota. He has focused in recent years on strengthening health systems in developing countries. At the World Bank, 1980-97, he worked on poverty and living standards, urban,   health, nutrition, and population projects, and managed training for Bank staff in these areas. He is author or editor of three books and several dozen articles. He was chair of the Center for Latin American Studies and taught economic history at UC Berkeley in the 1960s. He came to Wash DC in 1971 where he has worked at the OAS, Smithsonian Institution, Battelle Memorial Institute, World Bank, George Washington University, and Georgetown University.

  • Ph.D., Economics, MIT (1960 - 1965)
  • Latin American Area studies, UC Berkeley (1963-64)
  • BA, Ohio State University with honors in Economics, Phi Beta Kappa (1957-60); Mexico City College, Winter Quarter in Mexico (1959); Georgia Institute of Technology, Engineering Studies (1956-57)

Argentina, Austria, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Benin, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia, France, Germany, Ghana, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Lesotho, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Slovakia, Russia, South Africa, former Soviet Union, Switzerland, Thailand, Trinidad, Turkey, Tanzania, UK, Ukraine, Uruguay, USA, Venezuela, Yemen, Zambia